Introduction of Antarctic climate monitoring data - Meteorology, Glaciology and Satellite -

Naohiko Hirasawa^{1,2}, Keiichiro Hara³, Fumio Nakazawa^{1,2}, Masaki Okada¹, and the respective project contributors^{(1),(2),(3)}

¹National Institute of Polar Research

²Sokendai (The Graduate University for Advanced Studies)

³Fukuoka University

This presentation will introduce observations and data publications related to climate monitoring that have been conducted for several decades at Syowa Station, on board the Shirase, and on the Antarctic ice sheet. Specifically, (1) cloud, precipitation, and aerosol observations at Syowa Station and on board the Shirase, (2) Automatic Weather Station (AWS) observations on the Antarctic ice sheet, and (3) satellite observations at Syowa Station will be covered.

Some of these observations have been initiated recently (e.g., the enhanced AWS) and some have been recently suspended (e.g., aerosol and cloud observations at Syowa Station and on board the Shirase). Some aerosol and cloud observations will be resumed for a limited period of time as new project observations.

Regarding data publication, quality-controlled data is finally being prepared, but at present, there are those that only publish raw data (e.g., the AWS) and those that have not yet established a complete publication system because the raw data volume is too large (e.g., the satellite). Most of these data are available in the "Science database^{R1}" and "AWS^{R2}", which are operated by the National Institute of Polar Research. Information on some external public sites and portals that aggregate relevant observations will be described on the poster.

References

R1. Science database: https://scidbase.nipr.ac.jp/modules/site/index.php?content_id=14&ml_lang=en

R2. ADS: https://ads.nipr.ac.jp/others/

The project contributors

- (1) Aerosol, precipitation and cloud: Masataka Shiobara^{1,2}, Hiroshi Kobayashi (Yamanashi University), Masanori Yabuki (Kyoto University), Masahiko Hayashi (Fukuoka University), Makoto Kuji (Nara Women's University), Takashi Yamanouchi^{1,2}
- (2) AWS: Hideaki Motoyama^{1,2}, Naoyuki Kurita (Nagoya University), Konosuke Sugiura (University of Toyama), Shun Tsutaki^{1,2}
- (3) Satellite: Hiroshi Miyaoka^{1,2}, Kazue Suzuki (Hosei University)